The Moonshining Place

by sarahkobrinsky

Here is the piece I read for the ribbon cutting ceremony at Temescal Creek Park. It was a wonderful event, especially for the kiddos–bouncy castle, face painting, animal balloons. Parks have always been magical places for me. It’s where children get to try out their bodies, try on their imaginations, and play out their dreams. I had a lot of fun thinking about the many beloved parks from my own childhood as I wrote this.

The Moonshining Place

At the edge of the city,
at the edge of the world,
at the edge between
the earth and endless sky,
the moonshining place,

the place where we hung
our long summer legs
over the edge and fought
the urge to drop a shoe
or sneak a real first kiss,

the place where we played
hide-and-go-seek
and Tag, you’re it! until
we couldn’t breathe
or the sun went down,

the place where we came
on the quietest nights
to feel the moon kiss
the edge between
our skin and endless sky.

